You Take Me There

 

 

I rarely offer a prologue to my poetry, but this one is kind of special. As writer’s, we often wonder whether our words inspire or affect others, but we rarely know when they do. With that, I would like to dedicate this poem to Gabriela M., a successful, published writer and Spillwords Press Author of the Year, who shares her work at her blog, Short Prose, and in publications to numerous to count. Her words often take me to places and times I thought I had long forgotten. Her art scratching away the dust of too many years, to show that things well-remembered still shine brightly. Thank you, for all your words and all the great trips, my friend!

 

 

You Take Me There

 

How is it that with simple phrase

You ply the paths inside my mind

Transported back to younger days

My life, somehow, put on rewind

 

The colors of the scene you bare

The vast depth of your imagery

Pull me back to when I was there

And past is seen so vividly

 

These words you write with emotion

The beauty, with ease, you convey

Take me back to view of ocean

Coffee served at seaside cafΓ©

 

You build this world from words alone

A linguistic architecture

Paint piazza and cobblestone

In the well-remembered picture

 

And with the invite to my past

You make an older heart still soar

Evoking feelings that did last

Though residing in the before

 

So, thank you for this lovely trip

Down a shaded memory lane

An opportunity to sip

A rare vintage that still remains

 

 

 

 

Comments
38 Responses to “You Take Me There”
  1. yassy says:

    An awesome tribute. I love her work too, Brad. Thank you for sharing 😊

  2. Aw, Brad. I am humbled and delighted beyond words. Your poem is magnificent. From the bottom of my heart thank you for every word. Your kind gesture will stay with me forever. That’s a promise.

    Brad, I do not have a re-blog button. I lost it and WP cannot restored it unless they restore my entire site which means I will lose all content.
    However, first thing tomorrow morning I will link somehow to your= post and share it to my site. Can I, my dear friend?
    Thank you again. You filled my day with sunshine.
    Gabriela

    • Brad Osborne says:

      You are deservedly welcome, dear friend. You have been the muse to so many of my words that I wanted to say thank you. I am humbled that you would want to share it with your readers and thank you for that kindness. You are free to repost it as you see fit. They are as much your words as they are mine!
      Much respect and admiration, keep on shining! β˜€πŸ˜Žβ˜€

  3. Jim Borden says:

    what a wonderful tribute and trip down memory lane…

  4. A nice tribute and very well written πŸ‘Œ

  5. I also am an admirer of Gabriela’s work. Thank you for this poem celebrating her work. Kevin

  6. jonicaggiano says:

    What a wonderful tribute to Gabriela. Your words and phrases are so beautifully written. What a kind thing to do. Your writing is wonderful. I think Gabriela has that effect on a lot of her followers. She transports me immediately to what ever she is writing about and the thoughts linger. What a really kind and thoughtful thing for you to do. I will be looking forward to reading your words now that I am following you. You too, are a very good writer. Love πŸ’• Joni

    • Brad Osborne says:

      A pleasure to meet you, Joni! Thank you for following and your thoughtful words. I agree. Gabriela has a wonderful musing effect on many of her followers and readers. It is the being transported to her world that is so lasting. I thank you for your time and hope you will enjoy the words that follow.
      Love returned ❀ Brad

      • jonicaggiano says:

        I definitely will. I am sorry I called you Bob on my comment to Gabriela. I won’t forget your name again Brad. It is a pleasure to meet you as well. Your a gifted writer and I look forward to reading your work. It is always so exciting for me to hear about another gifted writer from one I follow. That is the beauty of blogging. Have a truly blessed day and again really well done, and I know you melted Gabriela with your thoughtful gift. Love πŸ’• Joni

      • Brad Osborne says:

        No worries, Joni! I will answer to anything. I hope my words will be worthy of your time. It is nice to know that I made Gabriela smile and to receive such kind responses to her post. I appreciate your love and support! ❀😘

      • jonicaggiano says:

        You are so welcome. Have an amazing Sunday. Love you Zjoni

  7. Incredible. I share your awe, and your poem is stunning

    β€œYou build this world from words alone
    A linguistic architecture
    Paint piazza and cobblestone
    In the well-remembered picture”

    Wow.

  8. sangita2020 says:

    Nice. I too admire Gabriela’s poetry .

  9. Haley Scully says:

    This is so lovely! I can really sense all the pure emotion that went into it. πŸ’–

  10. This is really lovely. Cheers!!! πŸ™‚

  11. jupitergrant says:

    Beautiful tribute to a wonderful writer

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Please read Brad’s entire poem and post hereΒ  […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.