The American Nomad



~~~

I hear the train whistle blowing

Steel wheels sing clickety-clack

The music of tanker and box car

A symphony of timber and track

~~~

It calls for me to travel on

Of the miles ahead there be many

I gather up my bindlestiff

Throw on my cap and Benny

~~~

She pulls a herd of Blackjacks but

An empty freight car is all I need

The travelling home for a hobo

Pulled hard by the steaming steed

~~~

With a belly full of rock soup

There are adventures to be had

And such is the wandering life

Of the great American nomad

~~~



Comments
15 Responses to “The American Nomad”
  1. beth says:

    American nomad – perfect

  2. Klausbernd says:

    Dear Brad,
    GREAT combination of picture and text.
    Thanks for sharing
    The Fab Four of Cley
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. kristianw84 says:

    It is not everyday one sees the word “bindlestiff” in a poem! Very well done, my dear friend!

  4. A rare and dying breed… “There ain’t no ramblers anymore…” Charlie Daniels said a while back. But you nailed it with grace and art my friend. All the best!

  5. I can feel that. It’s not me, but I love it vicariously.

  6. petespringerauthor says:

    I have a few blogging friends who live this life, constantly on the road. I find it fascinating, yet I’d probably last about two days.

  7. Did you ever see that movie Nomadland, Brad? It also gave an interesting view of that lifestyle.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.