Whittled Words – Nonet Poem

 

 

Welcome to the weekly series, Whittled Words. A series highlighting the innumerable types and styles of poetry to challenge any creative wordsmith. This week’s selection:

 

NONET POEM

 

The Nonet poetic form is fun and simple. It’s a 9-line poem that has 9 syllables in the first line, 8 syllables in the second line, 7 syllables in the third line, and continues to count down to one syllable in the final (ninth) line. No rhyme scheme or meter to be bothered with, so it is just that simple.

I couldn’t find an origin, but I did learn that the word nonet is used for a group of 9 performers or instruments. So, I’m assuming this is one of those poetic forms inspired by music.

 

Examples of Nonet Poems:

 

COLOR ME CLEAR

by Kelli Schmidt-Bultena

 

My inner voice is shouting loudly.
And I hear her. My place of start.
No fear. No lies. No whatifs.
I accept this is me.
I’ve discovered my
fav’rite color;
it is the
color
clear.

ARTISTRY

by mapoet

The painting turns liquid before me.
Suddenly, the water seems real.
I want to dip my finger
into the clear blue pool.
Let the fluid chill
me to the bone
while sunlight
filters
down.

CICADA

by Deborah Purdy

By the time you hear the crescendo,
the shrill harmony of the soul
of summer, of the heartbeat
of heat, it crashes, then
calls the troubadours
to celebrate,
serenade,
sultry
stars.

KISS IN 9/2 TIME

by Brenda Bishop Blakely

 

There are nine ticks on the metronome,
his finger touches a black key,
his other hand touches me.
When his eyes fix on mine
then there is no time.
We now prepare
for the sure
blissful
kiss.

 

I FEEL SNOW

by Yassy

In the Navajo white of wind’s play

I reach out gently with my arms

Feeling the first hush of snow

Brushing, dipping, curving

Lattice of meadows

Rune of snowflakes

Twinkling like

Crystal

Pearls.

Evanescing mystic afterglow

A crowning of winter solstice

Where fireplaces kindle

The thawing of season’s

Celestial chill;

Sun’s frozen

Iris smile

Teary

Frail.

 

DREAMS OF YOUTH

by Brad Osborne

 

Exuberant youth well-spent chasing

Seeking to fulfill all the dreams

Conjured in fervent young mind

As days while past with haste

Some are set aside

Never being

Not seeing

Light of

Day

 

 

I hope you have enjoyed this entry to the series, Whittled Words. I look forward to your comments, and if you dare, maybe share your own Nonet poem. Thanks for reading!

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Whittled Words – Nonet Poem”
  1. I really like these weekly series Brad. So much to learn on various poetry formats, you are doing a great job sharing such knowledge and work which are really exceptional

  2. Jim Borden says:

    another educational and entertaining post. When I saw the title, it reminded me of a Led Zeppelin song, Black Dog. I had always thought that one of the lines was “Dreams of youth all fill my head.” I just checked – the line is actually “Dreams of you all through my head”. So I guessed I learned a couple new things today – thanks!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a Nonet poem and a Tautogram poem. But there’s another form used in this. Any guesses as to […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.